committees

** Our internal conversations are held on Slack. To join Slack, please email femtechnetinquiries AT gmail DOT com with “Slack” in the subject line and a sentence about how you are associated with the Network. **

Steering Commmittee

The Steering Committee is the decision-making, oversight and imagination body for the network. At the Steering Committee, we discuss and resolve topics and plans that affect the whole network. The Steering Committee is also where we gather regularly as a large group to connect with each other and check in on how we’re doing and where we’re going.

    • The Steering Committee will meet on the First Friday of each month for two hours. Facilitation of the Steering Committee will rotate among committees. Anyone who wants to be involved with the work of FemTechNet is welcome and encouraged to attend and be part of the collective process.
    • Each Steering Committee meeting will be about an hour long:
      • Time: 10am PT  // 12pm CT // 1pm ET
      • Dates: (First Friday Monthly) October 7; November 4; December 2, 2016.
      • All steering committee meetings will be held in FemTechNet Blue Jeans Meeting Room 1**: for the link email femtechnetinquiries AT gmail DOT com

Critical Race and Ethnic Studies Committee (CRES)

The Critical Race and Ethnic Studies Committee creates interdisciplinary conversations, curriculum, and workshops by developing materials and activities that address issues of racialization, ethnic and cultural formation, power and identity. Our focus is on intersections of digital media and ethnic studies. Anchored in the legacy of critical race and ethnic studies, we are community activists engaged in practice-based scholarship and cultural work. We aim to engage public audiences with accessible media, community outreach, and feminisms inside and outside of the academy.

For the 2016-2017 year, the committee is continuing work on a podcast/teaching module series on the intersections of race, feminism, and technology. We plan to eventually release a full-semester worth of content, but our goal for this year is to release about 4-5 modules, most covering topics of games and sound. We will be meeting on the following schedule at 12pm PT/ 2pm CT/ 3pm ET for the rest of 2016: September 14; September 28; October 12; October 26; November 9; November 30; December 14.

Operations Committee (OPS)

The Operations Committee maintains and thinks critically about the platforms that the network uses to communicate. At present these include our public website, our internal Slack channel, TinyLetter newsletter and various social media accounts. We approach these platforms with intellectual curiosity and practical needs, keeping the network working and informing our research and pedagogical projects. In 2015-16, those projects included a teaching module on digital privacy, and an article on the challenges of archiving a network like ours.

The Operations Committee will meet on the 2nd Wednesday and 4th Thursday of every month. Wednesday times are 4pmET/3pm CT/1pm PT. Thursday times are12pmET/11am CT/9amPT. Please contact Sharon at shrnirish AT gmail DOT com for further information.

Pedagogy Projects Committee (PedProCom)

The Pedagogy Projects Committee (PedProCom) supports the various pedagogy projects of the network including the DOCC, our new Introduction to Online Safety & Risk activity; the Critical Race & Ethnic Studies Workbook; the Situated Knowledges Map; Keyword Videos; Town Hall Meetings; Online Pedagogy Workshops and any other teaching projects that you might want to initiate and work on. PedProCom works to mentor FemTechNet faculty, develop curricula, coordinate inter-institutional collaborations, and support community engaged learners. We are also a site of collaboration, whether for research-creation or to develop publishing projects on pedagogy related topics. Questions? Email FTNPedProCom AT gmail DOT com

    • PedProCom Working Groups: DOCC Instructors (if you are teaching a DOCC, you are in this group); FTN Wikipedia

** If you are unfamiliar with the Blue Jeans online meeting platform, please take a few minutes before your first meeting to go through Connecting to FemTechNet with Blue Jeans **

2 Comments

  1. Simone Willynck
    December 15, 2016 @ 7:18 pm

    Hi,
    I am hoping to post a job ad for the University of Washington Bothell. What would be the best method to do this?
    Thank you!
    Simone

    Reply

    • Hong-An Wu
      February 20, 2017 @ 12:50 am

      Hi Simone Willynck,
      We have a #jobannounce channel on our FemTechNet Slack (femtechnet.slack.com) that would be perfect for this. Otherwise, our Facebook group (www.facebook.com/groups/FemTechNet) is also great for these posting. Thank you!

      Best,
      Ann

      Reply

Leave a Reply